Recent UpdatesSite Search
Transit Photos Railroad Photos Rail Museums
Airliner Photos
Ship Photos
Kavanagh Fam
Travel Blog
World Trade Ctr

Facts and Figures

Operator SMRT or SBS Transit
System Type Metro
Year Opened 1987
# of Lines 5
# of Cars
Mileage 148.9 km
Gauge Standard
Stations 113
Power 3rd rail (NE line uses overhead)
Fare Media RFID cards
Data Date 2014
1st Visit 8/2013
Last Visit 3/2014
% Rode 99%

Asian Transit > Singapore
MRT (Metro/Subway)

Singapore MRT

There are two metro networks in Singapore, but both are referred to as the MRT with full fare integration. One is operated by the SMRT, the other by SBS Transit. SMRT operates the East/West, North/South and Circle Lines. SBS operates the Northeast Line and the Downtown Line which is under construction. Both system are owned by the Singapore Land Transport Authority

The MRT Lines

New Line Ktransit Symbol Operator Opened
  East-West EW SMRT 1987
  North-South NS   SMRT 1987
  Northeast NE   SBS Transit 2003
  Circle CC   SMRT 2009
  Downtown DT   SBS Transit  2013





A listing of all the stations featured on the website is below in alphabetical order

New Station Station #

Lines Served

# of Photos New Photos
  Ang Mo Kio NS16


  Bayfront DT16 CE1 DT CC**   7  
  Bencoolen DT21 DT     3  
  Bishan NS17, CC15 NS CC   5  
  Botanic Garden CC19, DT9 CC DT   3  
  Bra Basha CC2 CC     5  
  Bugis EW12, DT14 EW DT   7  
  Buona Vista EW21, CC22 EW CC   5  
  Changi Airport CG2 EW*     12  
  Chinatown NE4, DT19 NE DT   10  
  Choa Chu Kang NS4, BP1 NS LRT   10  
  City Hall NS25 EW13 EW NS 12  
  Clarke Quay NE5 NE     4  
  Clementi EW23 EW     1  
  Dhoby Ghant NS24, NE6, CC1 NS NE CC 18  
  Downtown DT17 DT 4  
  Esplanade CC3 CC     4  
  Harborfront NE1, CC29 NE CC SE 7  
  Holland Village CC21 CC     4  
Jurong East NS1, EW24 EW NS 12
  Marina Bay NS27, CE2 NS CC**   10  
  Orchard NS22 NS     9  
  Outrum Park EW16, NE3 EW NE   3  
  Pasir Ris EW1 EW     5  
Paya Lebar EW8, CC9 EW CC 9
  Promanade CC4, DT15 CC DT   18  
  Punggol NE17, PTC NE LRT   6  
  Raffles Place NS26, EW14 EW NS   11  
  Serangoon NE12, CC13 NE CC   8  
  Sengkang NE15, STC NE LRT   2  
  Stadium CC6 CC     6  
  Tanah Merah EW4 EW     11  
  Telok Ayer   DT     5  
  Woodlands NS9 NS     4  
  Yishun NE13 NS     12  
  Equipment         12  
 *: Changi Airport is a branch off of the East West line with no direct service between the airport and downtown Singapore. Passengers must change trains and Tanah Merah between Airport and regular East-West service trains
** Marina Bay is on a branch off the main Circle Line. Most trains on this branch terminate at Stadium. Transfer at Stadium or Esplanade for full Circle Line service trains.

The Fine Print:

   All photos on this website are by Mark Kavanagh. Any and all material contained in this web site may not be reproduced for in any form without the expressed written consent of Mark Kavanagh, © 1999-2017 all rights reserved. Larger and higher resolution images for all photos are available from the webmaster.
   If you have any questions or comments please use the feedback page, or E-mail Ktransit.
     All Logos, symbols for airlines, railroads and transit systems are trademarks and/or copyrighted by the owning airline/railroad/transit system
     Ktransit.com is not affiliated with ANY airline, railroad or transit system mentioned on this website. This website is an extension of the webmaster's hobby of transportation and photography. Help on transit systems is provided, if known.
     Become a sponsor of ktransit.com. Put your ad on a specific city for a nominal annual fee. 
E-mail Ktransit for more information.

| Home Page  | Transit Photos | Railroad Photos | Rail Museums | Tokens/Farecards |
| Kavanagh Family | Airliner Photos | Travel Notes | Site Updates|